Your free what's on guide to the NT

Raw Comedy

It’s March and that means Raw Comedy, the national open mic comedy competition, is hitting town.

By Will Crawford

Raw Comedy is a national treasure. Established in 1996, it’s unearthed some of Australia’s most talented comedians, including Aamer Rahman (Fear of a Brown Planet and the Can We Kick It web series), Hannah Gadsby (Nanette), Ronny Chieng (ABC’s Ronny Chieng: International Student and The Daily Show), Celia Pacquola (Utopia and Rosehaven), Anne Edmonds (Have You Been Paying Attention), Luke McGregor (Rosehaven and Luke Warm Sex) and Nazeem Hussain (Legally Brown and Orange is the New Brown).

It’s also seen local comedy legends Amy Hetherington, Ryan McArthur, and Scott McGowan awarded the NT comedy laurel wreath.  

The NT heats were held in February in Darwin and Alice Springs, and 12 super talented comedians have won their place in the NT final.

The winner will be flown to Melbourne to compete in front of 3,000 people at the televised national final as part of the Melbourne International Comedy Festival in April with the ultimate Raw Comedy champ jetted off to perform in the Edinburgh Fringe Festival.

Sat 9 Mar | 8pm | Darwin Entertainment Centre | $39 | 

Share this